Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, African Head Charge & more feature on latest On-U Sound compilation

LSP_PRESS_045_Web – Photo by Daniel Oduntan ©-2

On-U Sound will release the eighth volume in their Pay It All Back compilation series.

As with previous instalments, the release will feature exclusives, alternate mixes, previews and unreleased tracks from the label’s extended family, including African Head charge, Tackhead, Mark Stewart and Andy Fairley.

The first single to be shared is an unreleased track from the late, great Lee “Scratch” Perry, who was a close affiliate of the label for many years. Titled ‘The Many Names Of God’, the song features Nightmares On Wax vocal collaborator LSK, and is an outtake from the sessions that produced the Rainford and Heavy Rain albums.


Speaking about the release, Adrian Sherwood explains: ‘As usual with the Pay It All Back series, the intention is to promote our upcoming releases and productions. Also on offer are previously unreleased gems, versions of tracks exclusive to this release and more from artists that we’re keen to promote. Sadly in the last year we have lost so many music giants from amongst us, including Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, George Oban and John Sharpe. Lee Perry laughed at death. It was to him just a part of life and another beginning…I trust Lee. I’m very proud of this album, it goes out to all On-UCrew, our missing and irreplaceable friends.’

CD Tracklist
01. MAD 45 – You’ll Own Nothing
02. Lee “Scratch” Perry ft. LSK – Many Names Of God
03. Tackhead ft. LSK – Rulers & Foolers
04. Rita Morar – Meri Awaaz Suno (Hear My Voice)
05. African Head Charge – Asalatua
06. Horace Andy – Watch Over Them
07. Mark Stewart – Storm Crow
08. Creation Rebel – Stonebridge Warrior
09. Jeb Loy Nichols – What Does A Man Do All Day?
10. Denise Sherwood – This Road
11. Sherwood & Pinch ft. Daddy Freddy, Ghetto Priest and Jen Jen – We No Normal (Anger Management)
12. Andy Fairley – Your Best Tune
13. Lesson 7 & Scott Crow ft. Doug Wimbish – Andthe (Arise) (Adrian Sherwood Remix)
14. Hebden’s HiFi – Segue 8
15. Tackhead ft. MAD 45 – I Don’t Wanna Work A Fake Job
16. Sherwood & Pinch – Excessive Drinking
17. Ital Horns – Metropolis
18. LSK – Money Masters
19. Andy Fairley – Deranged Man

Pay It All Back Volume 8 will be released on CD on 20th May and limited edition blue vinyl on 5th August.