Theo Parrish announces Detroit-focused DJ-Kicks


Sound Signature boss and prolific DJ and producer Theo Parrish has announced his contribution to !K7’s infamous DJ-Kicks series, with a focus on the music of his native Detroit.

Tracing the present and the future of Detroit’s rich musical legacy, Theo has carefully curated an 18-track release featuring music from the likes of Specter, Monica Blaire, Jon Dixon and many more.

This is completed by a rare 90 minute Theo Parrish mix that includes all of the tracks and takes listeners on a groove-filled journey through strings, harmonic arrangements, raw analog jams and jacking tempos, asking them to ‘slow down, warm up, get loose, and move forward’.


Speaking about Detroit’s influence, Theo Parrish said: “Detroit creates. But rarely imitates. Why? We hear and see many from other places do that with what we originate. No need to follow. Get it straight. In the Great Lakes there’s always more under the surface – more than what appears to penetrate the top layer of attention and recognition. What about those that defy tradition? Those that sidestep the inaccurate definitions often given from outside positions? This is that evidence. Enjoy.”

Theo Parrish needs little by way of introduction. As a DJ he’s become known for his vast musical knowledge and genre-spanning sets, solo and as part of Three Chairs alongside Kenny Dixon Jr. and Rick Wilhite. His extensive discography of deep and soulful productions have landed on labels like Peacefrog, Moods & Grooves and his own iconic Sound Signature imprint.

01: De’Sean Jones & Ideeyah – Pressure
02: Donald Roland II – Simba’s Theme
03: Meftah – When The Sun Falls
04: Theo Parrish & Duminie DePorres – Real Deal
05: Specter – The Upper Room
06: Deon Jamar – North End Funk
07: Ian Fink – Moonlite (Duality/Detroit Live Version)
08: John C & Meftah – Full
09: Monica Blaire – aGain (T’s Edit)
10: De’Sean Jones – Psalm 23
11: Raybone Jones – Green Funk
12: Jon Dixon – Wind Drifts (Instrumental)
13: Whodat – Don’t Know feat. Sophiyah E.
14: KESSWA – Chasing Delerium feat. Nova Zai
15: Raj Mahal – Hudsons
16: De’Sean Jones – Flash Spain
17: Jason Hogans – Surrounded By Trees
18: Howard Thomas – Experiment 10
19: Sterling Toles – Janis

Listen to Ian Fink’s contribution.


DJ-Kicks will be released on 28th October.