Knekelhuis announce second VA compilation ‘…it wasn’t really me’


Amsterdam imprint Knekelhuis have announced a new compilation ‘ …it wasn’t really me’.

A follow up to 2021’s ‘and felt like…’, the 10-track release rallies artists who are exploring ambient, shoe gaze, experimental and new age sounds, glued together by a ‘rustic gloom’, just like its forerunner.

It features original music from singular producers dotted around the globe in America, Germany, Portugal, Korea and Greece, from artists including Salamanda, Lara Sarkissian, Spivak and more.


Knekelhuis was launched by veteran DJ and vocalist Mark van de Maat in 2014. Run with a DIY attitude and a penchant for sounds and artists that colour outside of the lines, the label has been home to releases from De Ambassade, EYE, Job Sifre, Reymour and many others.

1. Purelink – Personal Velocity
2. Tammo Hesselink – Half Learned
3. Lara Sarkissian – Eternal Repose
4. Feloneezy – Lipstick On My Double Chin
5. Spivak – The Fucking Bed On The Floor
6. Civilistjävel! – Fyrkant 06:58
7. Salamanda – Drink Wisdom
8. Hiroma Keo – Broken
9. Slowfoam – Mirror Stone
10. SSIEGE – Virgo Oscura

…it wasn’t really me is out on 16th December.