Francis Inferno Orchestra’s new band Sans Merit share video off debut LP

Screenshot 2023-04-21 at 09.03.11

Sans Merit, the new project of DJ and producer Francis Inferno Orchestra, is gearing up for the release of his debut album Early Grave.

Released via Zen 2000, the LA-based imprint home to House of Ho, Mogwaa and Damon Eliza Palermo, the album sees FIO (real name Griff James) explore his love of indie and alt rock for the first time across 13 tracks.

Taking a DIY, bedroom approach, he creates a hazy blend of shoegaze, lo-fi indie and dream pop that speaks to his years of experimenting with different genres, songwriting styles and studio set up.


To give the album a lo-fi quality, Griff recorded demos on his phone, used budget and old instruments, put mics next to broken speakers and cut tapes live in his room, all of which add to the nostalgic feeling that

As Francis Inferno Orchestra, Melbourne-born, La-based producer Griff James has released music for Let’s Play House, Fina Records and his own Superconscious records imprint, which has housed music from Fantastic Man, Andras, Cheap Present and more.

A1—“Friends Won’t Kick”
A2—“Human in Age”
A3—“Dead Medal”
A4—“But I Know”
A5—“Weathered Man”
B2—“Pill Nye”
B3—“Gentle, Caring (the Murmurings of Geoffry Baron)”
B4—“Heaven’s Gate”
B5—“Dark Lord”
B7—“Third Wicket”

Watch the video for ‘Weathered Men’.


Early Grave will be released on 12th May via Zen 2000.