Robert Hood relaunches his Monobox alias with a new EP and album

Screen Shot 2021-10-12 at 11.27.25

Robert Hood is reprising his Monobox alias for an EP and album, set for release on his own M-Plant imprint.

Originally spawned in 1996 with a run of three EPs on M-Plant, an album followed in 2003 on Logistic with an accompanying remix EP that featured reworks from Ricardo Villalobos and Matthew Dear. After a decade hiatus, he made a brief return with the release of a 12″ in 2014 in line with M-Plant’s 20th anniversary celebrations.

The new material comes in the form of ‘Forwardbase Kodai’, an EP featuring two new tracks, which won’t appear on the album, and a remix by Ø [Phase] as well as a special Robert Hood Re-Plant edit. This will be followed by ‘Regenerate’, a seven-track LP which delves further into Hood’s alien futuristic approach to techno minimalism, which he cites as ‘a vessel that has been lying dormant for 40 or 50 years and is now beginning to rise up again, or regenerate.’


Speaking to RBMA of the alias back in 2014 Hood explained that “Monobox was an alien project. I read this book when I was probably around 13 or 14. It was this ominous black box that came from some other universe, and it was just sort of hovering over the planet, over a cornfield somewhere.”

Track listing

Monobox – Forwardbase Kodai [M-Plant]
1. Forwardbase Kodai
2. Forwardbase Kodai (Ø [Phase] Remix)
3. Forwardbase Kodai (Robert Hood Re-Plant)
4. Homestead

Regenerate LP [M-Plant]
1. Rise
2. Blackwater Canal
3. Wargames
4. Angel City
5. Exoplanet
6. Drydock
7. Regenerate

Listen to snippets from ‘Forwardbase Kodai’ below.

Follow Robert Hood.