‘Happy Land’ release compiles ’90s British alternative electronic music

Happyland side by side

A new compendium, Happy Land, celebrates British alternative electronic music from 1992-1996.

This deep dive into what was a particularly fertile and diverse period of time for electronic music in the UK features major label releases and white labels, a lot of which is very difficult to find these days.

Across two volumes, it chronicles music from Cabaret Voltaire, Syzgzy, Herbert, the Black Dog, and many more artists who were experimenting with electronic sounds in the realms of dub, IDM, downtempo and experimental.


A press release expands on the cultural landscape at the time the music was created: “It was also a particularly turbulent time in the UK, not only politically and economically, but also culturally too. Economic catastrophe in ‘92 was followed by widespread poverty, a cost of living crisis and countless political scandals. Meanwhile, John Major’s Tory government pandered to its political base via unpleasant, authoritarian legislation that seemingly sought to crush rave culture, alternative lifestyles, and traveller communities. The UK was not so much a ‘Happy Land’ – to quote the name of this compilation – as an angry and divided one. Sounds familiar, doesn’t it?”

The release also features pastoral themes artwork and in-depth liner notes my Join The Future’s Matt Anniss.

1. Cabaret Voltaire – Soul Vine (70 Billion People)
2. Ultramarine – Happy Land (ft. Robert Wyatt)
3. Thunderhead The Word By Eden – True Romance
4. Xeper – Carceres Ex Novum
5. Herbert – Housewife
6. Liquid Son – Big Decision
7. Syzgzy – Meditation
8. Strider. B. – Linmiri ≠ Bradley Stryder
9. Radioactive Lamb – Bellevedere
10. Max – Pull Thy Boots
11. Fretless Azm – Dreamland
12. Sandoz – Armed Response
13. The Black Dog – Cost II
14. Zone Smut – Sub Dub Rub (Holyfield Vs. Tyson Remix Totally Killed By Sub Dub)
15. Slow Rotor – Space Disco (Dub Edit)

Volume I will be released on vinyl on 17th March and Volume II on 14th April, in tandem with the full digital release.