Hans Berg announces ‘Waypoints’, a four-part series of musical compositions on 2MR


Composer and artist Hans Berg has revealed details of a Waypoints, a four-part collection of musical compositions originally produced for art installations.

Intended in its entirety as an immersive experience, due to it forming part of a larger art piece, the series of music marks the first time they’ve been shared outside of a museum and gallery setting.

The compositions are predominantly attached to his work with Nathalie Djurberg, with whom he’s created sculptures, animations and installations that have been shown at MoMA, the Guggenheim, Art Basel Miami and more.


The four volumes, The Clearing, Ghost Band, Waterfalls and Trance, correspond with installations of the same name. The Clearing originally debuted in 2015 as part of the exhibition Flickers of Day and Night at Denmark’s ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum and consisted of huge spinning daisy sculptures surrounded by Djurberg’s claymation animations. Part two, Ghost Band, was composed for an exhibition in Switzerland, and used in the Ryan McGinley-directed documentary of Berg and Djurberg’s AR installation for Apple’s 2019 [AR]T Walk series.

Berg’s solo and collaborative visual work focuses on how art has the power to return us to nature, while his music explores hypnotic, organic strains of techno. The collection of music in Waypoints follows his debut release on 2MR in 2019 Sounds Of The Forest Forgotten, an album of ambient and techno recorded in the Swedish countryside.

Waypoints will be released 16th September via 2MR. Each volume will be available to buy alongside a series of corresponding at prints.