Flug 8 Returns To Ransom Note Records Next Month With ‘Hypnotische’


We’re overjoyed to welcome Daniel Herrmann aka Flug 8 back to Ransom Note Records next month!

Out 19th April on Bandcamp and 26th April on all other platforms, Hypnotische is the German artist’s follow-up to 2017’s Leuchtkraft, and the first of three records he’ll be releasing with us this year.

Acting as something of a time capsule from the recent past, the material that comprises Hypnotische dates from the same late ‘00s period that gave birth to Flug 8’s acclaimed debut Trans Atlantik, when he was living in the industrial heart of Offenbach. Having frequented the city’s Robert Johnson club since it opened in 1999, Herrmann later became its art director, a role he also performed for the Playhouse/Klang Elektronik label family, whose basement office/studio complex played host to a vibrant musical community including such figures as Roman Flügel, Ata, Losoul, Acid Pauli, Jörn Elling Wuttke and the late Heiko MSO.

Most likely the darkest Flug 8 release to date, Hypnotische shifts between minor-key unease and moments of disarming beauty. From the narcotic krautrock of the title track to the dreamy space ballad ‘Walls’, any notions of this being a mere exercise in ‘clearing the vaults’ are dispelled as soon as you hit play.

Below you can stream ‘Hypnotische Wellen’…

Hypnotische tracklist:

1 | Hypnotische Wellen (Long Version)
2 | Astrokid
3 | Radar
4 | Walls
5 | Motion Picture (SFX Version)
6 | Ein Licht
7 | Umlauf
8 | Magnetfeld

Hypnotische is out 19th April via Ransom Note Records and you can pre-order it here.

Follow Flug 8 on Soundcloud and Facebook. Buy on Bandcamp and pay what you like HERE