First Greco Roman Compilation


Joe Goddard has recently released his ‘Taking Over’ EP and Greco-Roman this week released their first every compilation, ‘We Make Colourful Music Because We Dance In The Dark’…

Experimental popular music collective step out of the shadows with their definitive debut label compilation: a kaleidoscopic whos who of underground and not-so-underground-anymore electronic talent. 

Featuring the likes of Disclosure, T.E.E.D., Valentina, Baio and Joe Goddard, the compilation shows the success of the label so far with tracks such as ‘Gabriel’, and the future of the label with brand new tracks from label co-founder Joe Goddard and the likes of Valentina and Roosevelt. 

To give you just a taste of what the Greco-Roman get up to check out the  video for ‘Step Together’ 

You can order the album here

Various Artists:

We Make Colourful Music Because We Dance In The Dark


12th August 2013 

But we arent a record label! protests Alexander Full Nelson Waldron. Greco-Roman can be forgiven for being misunderstood its clandestine roots have meant that the name has, or hasnt, popped up in many different places over the last few years. Originally a rotating guest back-to-back DJ partnership, then a speak-easy party in London and their second home of Berlin, a lack of website, a hatred of social media, a knack for spelling their own name wrong and a whole host of logo-less, genre hopping 12s from the likes of Disclosure, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Roosevelt, Vampire Weekends Baio, Hackman and Joe Goddard have all meant that no-one really knows what it is this loose collective of musicians and DJs on the Berlin-London axis actually do. 

So maybe now its time to set the record straight. Meeting over a common love of left-of-centre pop music in the multi-coloured hallways of Londons Island Records in 2005, Dom Mentsh, Alexander Waldron and Joe Goddard threw one party together and then almost immediately went separate ways Mentsh into music management, Goddard to be the production backbone of the influential Hot Chip, Waldron to Berlin to run !K7 Records and electronic music broadcast Boiler Room Berlin – but over the years they kept meeting to run cult unadvertised parties in off-beat locations and play records loud that no-one else did. Three fingers on the pulse and the loose, experimental nature of their events quickly spawned daring live acts from T.E.E.D., David E Sugar and Drums of Death and the genre-bending records to go with them. This compilation captures their sporadic output of breakthrough records, opening with 2011 anthem Gabriel by Goddard himself, skipping through genres with ease before turning to the early hours of their sweaty parties with a remix disc graced by electronic dignitaries such as Four Tet, Soulwax, Roman Fluegel and fittingly ending with a David E Sugar remix the artist that accidentally encouraged Greco-Roman to release records when he wrote a song about them after playing their first party: Oi New York, This Is London, Oi New York, Greco-Roman Soundsystem!

Popular music with one foot on the dancefloor, or club tracks with an ear for melody and pathos, whichever way you look at it, Greco-Roman make colourful music because they dance in the dark. 

Disc 1 – Colourful Music

1. Joe Goddard feat. Valentina Gabriel

2. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs Garden

3. Disclosure Boiling

4. Hackman Close

5. Baio Sunburn Modern

6. Roosevelt Sea

7. Joe Goddard & Boris Dlugosch Step Together

8. Grovesnor Drive Your Car

9. Micachu & Tirzah Not Dancing

10. Enchante Swaynes Lane

11. Valentina Ladders

12. Joe Goddard Lemon & Lime (Home Time)

Disc 2 – Dancing In The Dark

1. Millennium ICU

2. Valentina Wolves (Roman Fluegel remix)

3. Joe Goddard Apple Bobbing (Four Tet remix)

4. Baio Sunburn Modern (Session Victim remix)

5. Disclosure Whats In Your Head

6. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs  Move On

7. Joe Goddard feat. Valentina Gabriel (Soulwax remix)

8. Disclosure Boiling (Dixon remix) 

9. Joe Goddard feat. Mara Carlyle She Burns (The Invisible remix)

10. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs  Waulking Song (Lone remix)

11. Hackman Satisfy

12. Valentina Ladders (David E Sugar remix)