Rare Ambient & New Age music from Japan to be surfaced on LP by Light In The Attic


As part of the 'Japan Archival Series' the label is preparing to release a startling compilation of music never previously licensed or made available outside Japan. Recorded between 1980 -1990 the release features a collection of ambient, new age and ethereal music by some of the most innovative composers of the time and features tracks by the likes of Ryuichi Sakamoto, Hiroshi Yoshimura, Satoshi Ashikawa, Takashi Toyoda and many more.

The release is titled with a precursor – "Kankyō Ongaku". A term which “environmental music,” is an umbrella term used to describe the soundscapes, architectural acoustics, and incidental music that soundtracked the spaces, products, and experiences of 1980s Japan.

A full tracklist can be found below. The LP will be available in February of next year. 


1. Satoshi Ashikawa – Still Space
2. Yoshio Ojima – Glass Chattering
3. Hideki Matsutake – Nemureru Yoru (Karaoke Version)
4. Ayuo Takahashi – Nagareru*
5. Joe Hisaishi – Islander
6. Yoshiaki Ochi – Ear Dreamin’
7. Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix – Variation・III
8. Interior – Park
9. Yoichiro Yoshikawa – Nube
10. Yoshio Suzuki – Meet Me In The Sheep Meadow
11. Ryuichi Sakamoto – Dolphins*
12. Toshi Tsuchitori – Ishiura (Abridged)
13. Shiho Yabuki – Tomoshibi (abridged)
14. Toshifumi Hinata – Chaconne
15. Yasuaki Shimizu – Seiko 3
16. Inoyama Land – Apple Star
17. Hiroshi Yoshimura – Blink
18. Fumio Miyashita – See the Light (abridged)
19. Akira Ito – Praying For Mother / Earth Part 1
20. Jun Fukamachi – Breathing New Life
21. Takashi Toyoda – Snow
22. Yellow Magic Orchestra – Loom
23. Takashi Kokubo – A Dream Sails Out To Sea – Scene 3
24. Masahiro Sugaya – Umi No Sunatsubu
25. Haruomi Hosono – Original BGM

Pre order HERE and watch a teaser below: