Pinch reveals first solo album in 13 years on his own Tectonic


Pioneering Bristol producer Pinch has announced the release of his first solo album in 13 years, via his own label Tectonic.

Pinch carved out a reputation as a one of the original dubstep trailblazers, but his new 10 track album, Reality Tunnels, displays a different side to his production skills, and signals his evolution as a producer since the mid 2000s. Bass experiments are still present across the LP but they act as a foundation for other styles to come into play, be that grime, dub, jungle and ambient, which collectively make for an interesting journey through different soundworlds.

Set for release on 24th June, the album takes its title and concept from the idea of a 'reality tunnel', originally championed by American author Robert Anton Wilson. Speaking about this influence, Pinch explains that "‘Reality Tunnels’ is a concept that was originally introduced by [Robert Anton] Wilson in his 1983 book ‘Prometheus Rising’. In essence, the concept of a reality tunnel relates to an idea on how we create our own perspective – the subjective filter that we each apply to the world around us; the things we perceive and what our consciousness deems worthy of attention, IE what we see and hear is entirely relative to what we do not. Our beliefs, values, behaviours and so on, which we create and can therefore reshape, are the product of our individual reality tunnels. Every track on the album serves as its own reality tunnel and each tells a different part of my musical story”.

The album is influenced by his time spent in the studio with pioneering dub producer Adrian Sherwood and features collaborations with OG grime MCs Trim and Killa P, as well as vocalist Inezi and Ninja Tune's Emika.

‘Reality Tunnels’ marks his first solo effort since the 2007 release Underwater Dancehall, a collaborative LP with Shackleton and two with Adrian Sherwood, an EP with Photek plus many more solo 12”s. 

Track list
1. ‘Entangled Particles’ feat. Emika
2. ‘All Man Got’ feat. Trim
3. ‘Accelerated Culture’
4. ‘Returnity’
5. ‘Finding Space’
6. ‘Party’ feat. Killa P
7. ‘Back to Beyond’
8. ‘Change Is A Must’ feat. Inezi
9. ‘Non-Terrestrial Forms’
10. ‘The Last One’ feat. Nive Nielson & The Deer Children

Preview the video for 'Accelerated Culture' Below…

Buy HERE. Photo credit: Alex Digard.