Lone announces his first album in 5 years


Nottingham-raised producer, musician and Magicwire co-founder Lone has announced details of his eighth album – and his first in five years – ‘Always Inside Your Head’.

Released on 22nd October, the record draws from many different musical influences, the main two being Cocteau Twins and My Bloody Valentine, while elsewhere you can hear echoes of the nineties anthems that inspired him, namely William Orbit’s production on Madonna’s ‘Frozen’ and Olive’s ‘You’re Not Alone’.

Though rooted in club culture, the record sits somewhere between Mo’ Wax trip hop, 90s Warp, intelligent DnB and ambient house, and showcases Lone’s approach to sound-based song, featuring vocals for the first time from Margane Diet.

Shedding more light on the inspirations behind the LP, Lone explains: “I wanted to approach a range of different styles, but attack them from their angle in a way, so for example on ‘Inlove2’ I tried to imagine what a Balearic / acid house tune might sound like if it were produced by Kevin Shields”, comments Lone.

1 – ‘Hidden By Horizons’
2 – ‘Realise’
3 – ‘Echo Paths’
4 – ‘Visited By Astronauts’
5 – ‘Inlove2’
6 – ‘Mouth Of God’
7 – ‘Akoya’
8 – ‘Tree For Tree’
9 – ‘Undaunted’
10 – ‘Coming Into Being And Passing Away’

Pre-order HERE.