Graintable Announces Debut Album ‘Herons’ On Ransom Note Records


Herons is the rain-sodden, star-gazing debut album from Portland producer James Cooke aka Graintable. Out 27th April on digital and limited edition cassette via Ransom Note Records, it’s home to 10 tracks of mind-altering ambient, drone and synth that wash over you like tides at the mouth of the Columbia River. 

Graintable’s omnivorous output to date has encompassed everything from new age-y house to instrumental hip-hop and UK techno. With the acquisition of a Roland Juno-106 in 2013, he found his creative process becoming more open-ended, and his compositions more experimental. Recorded over the course of two years in a series of late night, one-take hardware jams, Herons stands as his greatest achievement yet, executed with quiet patience, deftness of touch and breathtaking textures. 

The album takes its name from a decommissioned paper mill to the south of Portland, now a island of metal and concrete reclaimed by nature. Indeed, the city’s location – sandwiched tightly between the mountainous Cascades and the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean – goes some way towards explaining the unique energy of Cooke’s compositions.

Herons is now available for pre-order via Bandcamp. Below, listen to the first three tracks to be taken from the album, then scroll down to see the cover art and tracklist.

Herons tracklist:

1. Lunar Tides
2. Odysseus
3. 610
4. Ape Caves
5. 39
6. Atlantis
7. Triptophan_2
8. Lighthouse
9. Magnetrine Flight
10. Nautical Waltz

Herons is out 27th April on Ransom Note Records, and you can pre-order it here.

Comments are closed.