Gqom Pioneers Da Soul Boyz To Release New Ep On Nervous Horizon


Composed of members Ndu Desoul M, Xoh da Deejay and Dj Ndoski, South African crew Da Soul Boyz are recognised as gqom pioneers, and next month they're releasing a brand new EP on Nervous Horizon! The London-based label's love of global, drum-heavy club sounds makes this a perfect pairing.

Based in the Durban townships of Umlazi and Newlands, the three producers met at high school where they used to exchange music and record mixtapes together. Eventually they started making beats after class and things got more serious. It was in this period 2013-14 that some of the crew's most influential tracks were made, mixing various percussive patterns and tribal calls together to give their own twist to gqom which they call ‘core tribe’.

Out 3rd August, Welcome to Durban is home to five absolute heaters that are guaranteed to send sweaty dancefloors into overdrive. Listen to lead track 'Nightmares (Step Down)' below: