Deerhunter return with new album ‘Why Hasn’t Everything Already Disappeared?’


Deerhunter are set to make a big return next year with their eighth album Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared?

Out 18th January via their usual home of 4AD, the 10-track LP is described as "a science fiction album about the present" that questions the disappearance of culture and the role of popular music in a time of algorithms and playlists.

Deerhunter's last album was 2015's Fading Frontier, and the group also released a limited edition tour-only cassette earlier this year. Watch the video for lead track 'Death In Midsummer' below, then check out the tracklist and cover art.

Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared? tracklist:

01. Death In Midsummer
02. No One's Sleeping
03. Greenpoint Gothic
04. Element
05. What Happens To People
06. Détournement
07. Futurism
08. Tarnung
09. Plains
10. Nocturne

Why Hasn't Everything Already Disappeared? is out 18th January 2019 via 4AD. You can pre-order it here.