Curses announces 3-part compilation featuring Front 242, Yello, Pablo Bozzi, Local Suicide & more


Berlin-via-NYC DJ and producer Curses has announced a three-part compilation that explores early electronic music, new wave, EBM and new beat, from early pioneers to like-minded contemporaries.

Bringing together music that spans over four decades and has inspired his own musical journey, as well as his peers, ‘New Wave Acid Punx’ features tracks from early trailblazers like Front 242, Yello and Suicide, alongside original contributions from contemporary artists who tread similar sonic terrain, including Moscoman, Zombies In Miami, Cardopusher, Local Suicide and Curses himself, to name but a few. 

Speaking about the compilation, Curses said: “What links these tracks together, is an attitude. It’s one I’ve been drawn to since I was a teenager, playing in punk bands, skateboarding in NYC, hanging out at CBGBs, and following Sonic Youth around, to eventually raving every weekend at underground drum & bass and electro nights.The compilation showcases the vital influences of Curses’ sound, from New Wave to Post Punk, and 80s EBM to New Beat.”

Luca Venezia, AKA Curses, was born and raised in New York where he became hooked on punk and early electronic music. He made the move to Berlin, where he runs his revered Ombra International imprint from and helms his regular Rinse France residency. His own productions have made homes on several labels including Correspondant, Permanent Vacation and Hoga Nord Rekords.

Next Wave Acid Punx will be released by Eskimo Recordings in digital, CD and vinyl formats on June 4th.


Chapter 1. Origins

1. Borghesia – Z.M.R.
2. Gina X Performance – Kaddish
3. Suicide – Wild In Blue (2005 Remaster)
4. Demolition Group – You Better Stay Alive
5. A Split Second – Flesh
6. BPM AM – Come To Me (Vocal Version)
7. Ted Milton – Love Is Like A Violēnce
8. Front 242 – Funkhadafi
9. Colourbox – Fast Dump
10. Yello – Lost Again (Extended Dance Version)
11. Mystery – Mystery Girl (Club Mix Remastered)
12. In-D – Virgin In-D Sky’s
13. Judy Torres – No Reason To Cry (Instrumental)
14. Hard Corps – Porte Bonheur (Lucky Charm) 2021

Chapter 2. Break A Sweat

1. Moderna & Theus Mago – Francesca (Wild At Heart)
2. Middle Sky Boom feat. Eliezer – Slow With The Run (Il Est Vilaine Remix)
3. Tiempo De Maldad – Maxico (Alvee Remix)
4. Zombies In Miami – El Wild
5. Moscoman – Fernandez
6. Juan Maclean feat. Fantastic Twins – She’s Breaking Up
7. Damon Jee & Darlyn Vlys – Kronos (Wild Mix)
8. Zakmina – Viral News
9. Radial Gaze – Totem Echoes (You Man Remix)
10. Paresse – Temple
11. Rina x Benji x Megaphonim – Ani Cham
12. Modular Project – Electronic Disco (Curses Remix) 

Chapter 3. Maximum Heat

1. Curses – Discipline
2. Chinaski – Hart Und Kalt
3. Shubostar – AYA
4. Cornelius Doctor – Life In Chains
5. Mufti – Restrained
6. Amarcord – Spleen
7. Franz Scala – Shortwave Memories
8. Tronik Youth – Spirit Dancer
9. Cardopusher – Escape From Reality
10. Kendal & David Carretta – Pastaga
11. Local Suicide & Skelesys – Faster Faster
12. Pablo Bozzi – Storm in Dallas

Listen to Curses – ‘Discipline’ below.