Citizenn Reveals Debut Album Details


If you caught our Citizenn premiere of a couple of weeks back you'll know that Laurence 'Citizenn' Blake has been quietly preparing himself for a take over. He's now announced details of his debut album, Human Interface coming through Crosstown Rebels on June 29th.

I wanted to explore this idea of humanity infusing with technology, we have become completely dependent upon it to survive," Blake writes. "The western world's obsession with augmenting our natural abilities runs deeper than moving things quickly or getting us into space, it allows us to manifest complex ideas and emotions in an artistic context. Each track on the record is based on a particular theme of human emotion or technological/mechanical attribute, and it's relation to the world of electronic music. I've dug deep to conceptualise each track to this format and attempted to create a journey through my influences, both musical and cinematically.

Whether this concept plays out on the record or not remains to be seen – the album is being pitched as combining RnB vocals, occasional James Blake-esque production touches, and house tracks peppered with sci-fi synths that have become the Citizenn trademark. The tracklisting runs as follows:

01 Human Interface
02 Infatuation
03 Control 
04 Shutters
05 Tied feat. Aisha
06 Lacefront
07 Oh Bondage
08 Gone feat. Py
09 Down 4 Whatever
10 You Are
11 Lady feat. Aisha 

Anyone hoping to hear Be, his recent single for 20/20 Vision, on the album will be disappointed. You can, however check out the future jazz of lead single Tied below –