Alexis Taylor Announces Solo Piano Album


Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor is set to release his third album on 10 June, an intimate collection of solo piano recordings.

Piano, described by Taylor as "an atheist's gospel album", focuses just on his piano and voice, captured up close, without any effects.

Partly inspired by a never-realised Alex Chilton solo piano LP, the idea's been in the back of Taylor's mind for some time, with his first attempt at the format having morphed into the second About Group album.

The tracklisting of Piano contains a mix of new songs, reinterpretations of Taylor's own writing, and a very personal selection of covers – a few of these roadtested during his performance at David Byrne's Meltdown last year.

That includes versions of 'So Much Further to Go' from the most recent Hot Chip album, and 'Don't Worry', 'Repair Man' and 'I Never Lock That Door' from his About Group side project.

Below, stream opening track 'I'm Ready', described by Taylor as "a totem of independence":

Piano is out 10 June on Moshi Moshi, pre-order here.

01 I’m Ready 
02 So Much Further to Go 
03 Crying in the Chapel 
04 Without Your Name 
05 In the Light of the Room 
06 Lonely Vagabond 
07 Repair Man 
08 Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue 
09 I Never Lock That Door 
10 Just for a Little While 
11 Don’t Worry

Comments are closed.