6 Classic Fela Kuti Albums To Get Vinyl Reissue


As Fela's legacy continues to garner the respect it deserves, another 6 LPs from the afrobeat pioneer's extensive back catalogue are to get the full reissue treatment. October 16th will see the LP release of Roforofo Fight (1972), Alagbon Close (1974), Everything Scatter (1975), Na Poi (1976), Fear Not For Man (1977), and Beasts Of No Nation (1989), all coming with download cards and new sleeve notes from afrobeat historian Chris May. 

To give you a taste, here's the full Everything Scatter album, alongside May's sleevenotes:

On Friday, 16 October, the day of the reissue, Felabration will be held at the British Library. A celebration of Kuti's life and works, the event features music from Dele Sosimi and his 16-piece Afrobeat Orchestra, plus Tony Allen, 2face Idibia, Laura Mvula, Shingai Shoniwa, Afrikan Boy, Terri Walker and more. It looks like tickets for the event have already sold out, but you could always a go beg on the facebook event wall