Josh Caffé to release debut album on Phantasy

5 Minute Read
800px Josh_Caffe_May_234277.1.1

The new album comes off the back of a string of singles on Erol Alkan’s record label.

Josh Caffé has announced the release of his first album via Phantasy Sound – the longstanding imprint run by Erol Alkan. Titled ‘Poppa Zesque’ the album will be released on the 8th of September later this year and features eleven tracks focussed towards the dancefloor.

“I never used to be the sort of guy who could say the word ‘sex’ without blushing” sings Josh Caffé on the opening track – the album described as effortlessly capturing and documenting the energy of queer, Black life in London.


Josh Caffé has worked in numerous capacities across the dance and music sphere for many years and reflects personal experiences and development during this time.

“Poppa Zesque is a fictional character, but it’s also me”, explains Caffe of his alter-ego, a hard-partying, hedonism-positive trouble magnate navigating East London’s darkest corners. “It’s like this voodooesque being or entity, what I wish I could have been in my twenties; an extroverted, mythical, into-the-night kind of person.”

The album features a number of collaborations with Whalley and features additional production from saxophonist and vocalist Alex White of Fat White Family.

The full tracklist can be seen below:

01. Justify My Sex (ft. Al White)
02. Meine Lederjeans (ft. Al White)
03. Do You Want To Take Me Home
04. The Rent Boys Want Their Money Back (ft. Al White)
05. Poppa Zesque (ft. Al White)
06. Nitalude
07. Bunny Grinder (ft. Al White)
08. According To Jacqueline
09. Mania
10. Sermon
11. Outro