First Listen: Smith & Mighty – Tumblin’ (Death March)


Celebrating 30 years since their first release, seminal Bristol production duo Smith & Mighty are releasing a new compilation of unreleased material! Out 9th November, Ashley Road Sessions 88-94 (named after their studio in the St Pauls area) comes as a special double label partnership between Pinch's Tectonic and Peverelist's Punch Drunk, showcasing just how integral Smith & Mighty are to the Bristol sound and also the wider array of much contemporary UK urban and electronic music.

From jungle and dubstep to trip hop and UK rap, the extent of the duo's influence becomes staggeringly apparent as you listen to this compilation, which covers a surprisingly broad range of stylistic ground. Using warm sub bass, heavy beats and dub FX as their building blocks, Smith & Mighty drew on Bristol's strong post-punk and reggae/soundsystem scenes to create a hybrid sound that took them into the upper reaches of the charts, found them working with artists such as Massive Attack, Carlton and Neneh Cherry, and helped to forge the city's reputation as a hotbed of sonic experimentation in the late '80s and '90s.

Check out the artwork & tracklist and listen to 'Tumblin' (Death March)' below:

Ashley Road Sessions 88-94 tracklist:

01. Always Be There (Step Up)
02. Stalagnate
03. Tumblin' (Death March)
04. Latent Energy
05. Morning Light
06. Film Score
07. Higher Than Tempo
08. Dub Song
09. Fruits
10. Through A Dark Cloud
11. Leaving Pt 1 & 2 (CD bonus track only)

Ashley Road Sessions 88-94 is out 9th November via Tectonic / Punch Drunk, pre-order it here.