The Bug and Dis Fig to collaborate on new album for Hyperdub


The Bug AKA Kevin Martin has teamed up with American producer/vocalist Dis Fig for a collaborative album titled In Blue, set for release on Hyperdub.

The initial rhythms were written in 2018 by The Bug for a Solid Steel radio show, and rather than simply moving on or releasing them in their raw instrumental form, he decided to mutate them into new tracks with the help of Dis Fig. Two years of lab exchanges later and the deep pulsations and lyrical long shadows of In Blue were born, bringing together shades of Martin’s King Midas Sound project and the bass heavy sonics he became synonymous with as The Bug.

Martin and Dis Fig describe the style across the album as ‘Tunnel Sound’, translated through a foggy, melancholic meltdown of narco-dancehall zoned soul and dread drenched, electronic dub.

Mixed entirely during lockdown at The Bug’s Brussels home, the sense of claustro-fear, escapism and tension is palpable, while Dis Fig’s bewitching vocals direct the flow, allowing carnality and violence to merge under the turbulent, cinematic surface of this hypnotic album.

1. Around Me
2. Come
3. Destroy Me
4. Blood
5. In 2 U
6. Levitating
7. Forever
8. Blue To Black
9. Take
10. No Return
11. You
12. End In Blue

Watch the video for ‘You’ below…