Space Afrika announce new album ‘Honest Labour’ for DAIS


Manchester duo Space Afrika have announced details of their new album, Honest Labour, released via DAIS on 27th August.

Marking the pair’s first major outing since 2020’s landmark hybtwibt? mixtape, the LP builds on their singular musical approach of fusing collages of rhythm, texture and shadow, which they term as “overlapping moments”, adding classical strings, guitar and vocal cameos.

Exploring feelings of love and loss, in part stimulated by the conditions the album was crafted in – the solitude of lockdown – the 19-track release journeys through foggy ambience, cosmic soundscapes and poetic vignettes of looping haze and found sound, meeting the duo’s core ambitions: to transcend the sum of their influences, and “to show what we’re capable of.”

The album title is tiered, alluding to a legendary patriarch from co-founder Joshua Inyang’s Nigerian family tree (who was lovingly called “Honest Labour” for his loyalty and resilience) as well as the nature of self-designated work, such as Space Afrika’s music – a “labor of love” in its truest sense.

A1 yyyyyy2222
A2 indigo grit ft. guest
A3 lose you beau
A4 solemn
A5 lv
A6 preparing the perfect response ~
A7 ny interlude
A8 rings ft. guest
A9 noise sweet
A10 B£E ft. blackhaine
B1 like orchids
B2 meet me at sachas
B3 u ft. kinseyLloyd
B4 —
B5 girl scout cookies ft. bianca scout
B6 ladybird drone
B7 with your touch
B8 strength ft. LA Timpa
B9 honest labour

Watch ‘B£3’ feat. Blackhaine below.

Pre-order HERE. Photo credit: Chloé Magdelaine & Timon Benson.