Sassy J set to release double LP compilation on Rush Hour


Sassy J has announced the release of a double LP Patchwork for Amsterdam-based label and record shop Rush Hour. 

The compilation, which features 13 tracks – ten of which are exclusives – traces Sassy J's path as a DJ and the artists and friends she's made personal relationships with along the way. The release features music for the dance floor as well as tracks for immersive home listening, including the broken beat rhythms of 2000 Black, Larry Heard's deep house classic "Survivor" and Ron Trent's WARM project. The softer side of the LP is channeled through tracks from Azymuth's drummer Ivan Conti, Carlos Niño and friends and the indie soul of Georgia Anne Muldrow.

For over 14 years Sassy J has been helming her Patchwork night, first in her native Bern and now in London, inviting artists like Theo Parrish, Floating Points and MF Doom to join her in the booth. The night speaks to the grass roots values that Sassy J supports and plays into the way she approached compiling the double LP.

The full compilation is set for release on 12th December with the first single from Georgia Anne Muldrow out today.