Kompakt Records announce ‘Velvet Desert Music’


The German record label run by Wolfgang Voigt, Michael Mayer and Jürgen Paape have launched a new compilation series focussed on combining elements of rock, folk, country, surf, krautrock and psychedelic in contemporary electronic music. The first volume has been compiled by Jörg Burger and features an array of unreleased music by the likes of Matias Aguayo, Fantastic Twins, Paulor, Rebolledo,  Sascha Funke & Cosmo Vitelli, Superpitcher, The Modernist and more. The album is made up of close friends and features thirteen tracks. 

Jorg describes the release as follows…

“Just think…from Sergio Leone to David Lynch, from Elvis in his deepest moments to Johnny Cash somewhere between amphetamine backlash and American Songs, from Hollywood Babylon to Hotel California, from Mulholland Drive to Paris, Texas. Served with a pinch of Tago Mago and Pink Floyd at Pompeii. Then you know exactly what Velvet Desert Music is about…"

A track by Fantastic Twins is streaming from the compilation: