Efficient Space announce reissued material from Karen Marks


The label has signposted a new EP due for release on the 17th of May later this year. "Cold Café" was first released in 1981 and has been regarded as a landmark moment in the evolution of new wave as a musical genre in Australia. The title track first appeared on the Efficient Space 'Sky Girl' compilation, which was released back in 2016. However, this will be the first time that the remainder of the EP has received a new lease of life alongside unheard material since the first edition was released back in the eighties.  

Efficient Space is the sibling label of prominent eclectic powerhouse Noise In My Head, an Australian imprint which has helped champion experimental electronic music over many years. 

The label describe the importance of the record and Karen as an individual below:

"A rarity in the then male dominated industry, Marks found her footing in music, first through rock journalism and then in band management. Formally of Adelaide, newly arrived synth-punks JAB (Johnny Crash, Ash Wednesday and Bodhan X) approached her for representation, subsequently contributing tracks to seminal 1978 snapshot Lethal Weapons and playing the Crystal Ballroom's opening night. Wednesday and Crash would soon dissolve JAB, enlisting Mark Ferry and Sean Kelly to create Models. Still under Mark's management, Models became one of the fastest rising new bands of the punk movement, playing to full houses of dedicated and frenzied fans everywhere. Sadly, internal frictions forced Wednesday and Marks to leave after two years, with Crash following three months later. 

Her creative relationship with Wednesday fortified with the co-production of his 1980 machine-pop prank Love By Numbers, her swooning chorus uplifting his deadpan count to 100, before the two collaborated on Marks’ own recording persona. Immortalised by the icy Oz wave of Cold Café, her Astor issued 7” also boasted the caffeinated flip Won't Wear It For Long – a should be hit with guitar from future Icehouse member Robert Kretschmer." 

Listen to a demo taken from the new EP below: