Actress To Drop Latest Dj Kicks


UK techno experimentalist Actress is the latest artist to take on the DJ Kicks compilation. As ever the compilation is being released as both a mixed CD and split double vinyl, with Actress's selections taking in essential techno from the likes of Reel by Real and Ron Trent and Chez Damier's Chez n Trent hook up, Windy City Club. There are also plenty of curve balls from the likes of Autechre, and waves of emotional future techno – the much loved 2 by Breaker 1-2 opens the mix and let's you well know the kind of ride in store…

“When I’m selecting music I’m not always thinking about the music alone …" says Actress on his unusual selection policy

"I’m thinking about the names of the artists, tracks, and labels, and what they mean to me. I often base my tracklisting purely on how well the track titles work together in a poetic sense.”

“I’ve tried to keep space between tracks, allowing them to speak, I tried not to force BPM shifts and to let the programming remain choppy and quick."

The full tracklist runs as follows:

01 Breaker 1 2 – 2
02 Lorenzo Senni – Elegant, and Never Tiring
03 Reel by Real – Look At Me
04 Autechre – Pen Expers
05 Chameleon – Thought 2
06 Beneath – Stress 1
07 Simbiosi – Impari
08 Zennor – Tin
09 John Beltran – Anticipation
10 Moon B – Those Moments
11 STL – Psychelicious
12 Snakepiss – Toil
13 Shit and Shine – Pearl Drop
14 Chez n Trent – Windy City Club
15 Mark Fell – Section 1-7
16 GNESIS – Pear
17 Shxcxchcxsh – LDWGWTT
18 Hank Jackson – Track 3
19 Actress – Bird Matrix (DJ-Kicks)
20 Gherkin Jerks – Red Planet

A1 Lorenzo Senni – Elegant, and Never Tiring
A2 Reel by Real – Look At Me
A3 Simbiosi – Impari
B1 John Beltran – Anticipation
B2 Shit and Shine – Pearl Drop
C1 Chez n Trent – Windy City Club
C2 Mark Fell – Section 1-7
D1 Actress – Bird Matrix (DJ-Kicks)
D2 Gherkin Jerks – Red Planet

DJ Kicks #49 – Actress is released on May 4th. More info on the DJ Kicks website