Sxsw Confirm Winners For Film Awards

Art & Culture

The annual South By South West festival have announced the winners for their film awards competition which involves categories for Music Videos, Narrative Features and Documentaries as well as various design categories that celebrate the collaboration between film makers and designers. 

Winners this year included the much hyped new film from Edgar Wright, the director of the 'Cornetto Trilogy' which starred Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. His new contribution, 'Baby Driver', has a similarly stellar cast including Kevin Spacey, Jamie Foxx and Ansel Elgort. It picked up the Headliners Audience Award at this year’s edition of SXSW.

Alongside mega money films like 'Baby Driver' the awards also focus on smaller projects that are submitted to the panels.

London Based animation director Nicolas Menard won the Best Animated Short category with his film 'Wednesday With Goddard':

Leon Bridges’ video for 'River', directed by Miles Jay picked up the category for Best Music Video whilst Tame Impala’s Canada directed video for 'The Less I Know The Better 'picked up a special Jury Prize. 

Other notable awards went to Caspar Newbolt, who won the excellence in poster design award for his work on Laura Moss' film 'Fry Day', with a Special Jury Recognition prize going to Jeremy Enecio's poster for 'Like Me'.

The most sought after awards went to Ana Asensio's film 'Most Beatiful Island' which won the Best Narrative Feature category and Jairus Mcleary and Aldous' film 'The Work' which won Best Documentary.

A full list of winners can be found HERE

Comments are closed.