First Listen: Gwenno - Chwyldro (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

"in which Weatherall reaches down, hoists Gwenno aboard his fine steed, and gallops off over the hills"

First Listen: Gwenno - Chwyldro (Andrew Weatherall Remix)

"in which Weatherall reaches down, hoists Gwenno aboard his fine steed, and gallops off over the hills"

Heavenly Records have just reissued Gwenno’s splendid Y DYDD OLAF to wide acclaim. The original, released as a limited pressing on Peski Recods, sold out within weeks- now a few more of you will be able to get your hands on a record that's fast becoming a moden classic. The debut album from former Pipette, Gwenno Saunders, Y DYADD OLAF is a strange and enchanting Welsh language concept album based on Owain Owain’s 1976 novel about a dystopian future- there’s not a day that passes when we don’t wish for more oddball kraut-pop records concerning the robotic take over of Earth, so Y DYDD OLAF has been thoroughly welcomed round these parts. To celebrate the albums release, we’re premiering Andrew ‘The Guv’nor’ Weatherall’s remix of Chwyldro, in which Weatherall reaches down and hoists the whisper-singing Gwenno aboard his fleet footed steed, before galloping off over the hills to the wild grass lands.

Unsurprisingly, it’s pretty bloody good.

 

<

You can catch Gwenno live at the following dates:

Saturday 1st August - CORNWALL - Port Eliot Festival
Friday 14th August - CARDIGAN - Caught By The River
Sunday 6th September - PORTMEIRION - Festival No. 6
 
Co-Headline tour with H.Hawkline:

Thursday 17th September – LEEDS – Brudenell Games Room
Friday 18th September – GLASGOW – The Hug & Pint 
Saturday 19th September – NEWCASTLE – Think Tank
Sunday 20th September – MANCHESTER – Soup Kitchen
Tuesday 22nd September – LONDON – Oslo
Wednesday 23rd September – BRISTOL – Louisiana
Thursday 24th September – BRIGHTON – The Basement 
Friday 25th September – CARDIFF – Clwb Ifor Bach
Saturday 26th September – BIRMINGHAM – Rainbow Club

COMMENTS