Simian Mobile Disco To Release Entirely Analogue Album


Simian Mobile Disco are releasing their new album 'Whorl' on September 8th through Anti records. The first demos for the album were recorded in April of this year, when the duo went out to a studio in the South Californian desert with two modular synths, two sequencers and a mixer. Over three days they jammed out a series of tracks that became the basis for 'Whorl', deliberately chosing not to use a computer in the process. Considering the album, Jas has said,

“The recordings we did in the studio while we were writing and rehearsing the new material for Whorl were simply "live" takes – the system we’re using has limited ability to save patterns in the sequencer, but nothing like the flexibility of a computer. Live performance and studio composition are essentially now the same process, rather than the common method of writing a track using the computer, and then working out ways to perform it live. We planned not to slavishly limit ourselves just to this performance – when we came to mixdown the album, we used portions of three sessions – the show itself, an extended jam we did in the desert the day before, and a little of our London studio rehearsal. "

The album will be preceeded by the single “Tangents”, on the 1st of July – you can hear an exerpt of it in the album trailer below.

Full tracklist is as follows:

1.     Redshift – 4:04
2.     Dandelion Spheres – 3:41
3.     Sun Dogs – 7:32
4.     Hypnick Jerk – 6:01
5.     Dervish – 5:57
6.     Z Space – 4:40
7.     Nazard – 5:10
8.     Calyx – 7:22
9.     Jam Side Up – 5:39
10.  Tangents – 6:32
11.  Iron Henge – 5:22
12.  Casiopeia – 3:11

A special limited edition coloured vinyl of "Whorl" available to pre-order now at here.