Gigi Masin set to release double LP on Apollo Records


Venetian musician and composer Gigi Masin has announced the release of his new double long player entitled Calypso.

Set for release on 28th February on Apollo Records, the ambient masterpiece is inspired by the mythical Greek island of Ogygia and it's alleged real life equivalent Gavdos, known unofficially as Calypso. Over 16 tracks, the album transports you to the Aegean coast and its glistening seas, timeless beauty and breathtaking landscapes, evoking a feeling of intrigue with underlying tones of the dark and dangerous, made mellow with centuries of age. 

Talking about the island that inspired the record, Gigi says “Gavdos gives you profound sensations in every corner, as here you can find enchantment, mystery, the getting lost to forget, to erase and drown the memories in a light and salty water. A place new and ancient, between cedars that have seen exiles, pestilences, blood and desperation, isolation and abandonment, it’s the absolute of a life that every heart in love seeks, desperately, in the arms of Calypso, divine among the goddesses. An infinite love, and the infinite horizon of our dreams.”

Masin's debut album in 1986 and subsequent follow up LP with Charles Hayward went by relatively unnoticed and Gigi remained in obscurity until Music From Memory released 'Talk To The Sea' in 2014 as a retrospective of the last 30 years of his music. The following year he formed the group Gaussian Curve with Young Marco and Melody As Truth boss Jonny Nash and released their debut 'Clouds' on the same label. His other collaborative project Tempelhof, alongside Luciano Ermondi and Paolo Mazzacani, saw him release a further two records called Hoshi and Tsuki for Italian label Hell Yeah.

Track list

A1 ‘Calypso’
A2 ‘Bellamore’
A3 ‘Nefertiti’
A4 ‘If’
B1 ‘Anemone’
B2 ‘Khalifa Golf Club’
B3 ‘Mayo Slide’
B4 ‘Susan Maybe’
C1 ‘Amaranta’
C2 ‘Coraline’
C3 ‘How To Disappear In A Kiss’
C4 ‘Cry Winds Or Flames’
D1 ‘Enter Venus’
D2 ‘On Demons And Diamonds’ – with Ben Vince
D3 ‘The Water Sibyl’
D4 ‘Your Name Is My Infinite’